Non-subscription Concert on the Day of Foundation of the Staatskapelle Dresden

Michail Jurowski Conductor
Matthias Wollong Violin
Sebastian Herberg Viola
Norbert Anger Cello

Arvo Pärt

  • »Festina lente« for String Orchestra and Harp

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Sinfonia concertante in A major for Violin, Viola, Cello and Orchestra, completet and adapted by Jeffrey Ching (2016), World Premiere

Franz Schubert

  • Symphony No. 7 in B minor, D. 759 »Unfinished«

Hidden order

Something unfinished shimmers through the cracks of a fractured existence: Schubert’s Symphony in B minor, a work that throws up more riddles than certainties, already fired the imagination of his contemporaries. And even today the process of combining fragments to create a meaningful whole is fascinating to us, as the premiere of Mozart’s Sinfonia concertante in A major will confirm. In »Festina lente«, Pärt creates a prolation canon to illustrate the motto »more haste, less speed«.

Date of broadcast: September 22, 2017, from 8.05 p.m. on MDR Kultur and MDR Klassik
  • 22.09.2017
    20:00 Uhr
    Palais im Großen Garten