Piano Recital of the Artist-in-Residence

Denis Matsuev Piano

    Pjotr I. Tchaikovsky

    • »The Seasons«, Opus 37

    Ludwig van Beethoven

    • Sonata Nr. 31 in A flat major, Opus 110

    Pjotr I. Tchaikovsky

    • »Méditation«, Opus 72 No. 5

    Sergei Prokofiev

    • Sonate Nr. 7 B-Dur op. 83

    A festival of inspiration

    Cyclical contemplation as the counterpoint to linear design. Tchaikovsky’s »The Seasons«, a work comprising twelve epigrams of the densest poetry, is contrasted in Denis Matsuev’s recital by the composer’s affecting Méditation. Beethoven’s penultimate piano sonata exemplifies the notion of linear development towards a climax; the work’s Finale is in fact the main movement. Prokofiev’s Seventh Piano Sonata further explores the possibilities of sound and form in uncompromising fashion.

    • 08.10.2017
      11:00 Uhr
      Ticket price:
      10.00 – 33.00 €