Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester

Lorenzo Viotti Conductor
Gautier Capuçon Cello

Anton Webern

  • »Im Sommerwind«, Idyll für großes Orchester

Dmitri Shostakovich

  • Violoncellokonzert Nr. 1 Es-Dur op. 107

Pjotr I. Tchaikovsky

  • Symphonie Nr. 6 h-Moll op. 74 »Pathétique«

The end and the beginning

Tchaikovsky placed his »entire soul« into the »Pathétique«, premiered only nine days before his death, and considered by many to be a requiem for a life rich in creation and sacrifice. Of similar maturity, Shostakovich’s First Cello Concerto is an entirely different work. Written in 1959 during a political thaw, it is understood as an indictment of Stalin. Anton Webern’s »Im Sommerwind«, on the other hand, stands at the beginning of an artistic career. And indeed the subtitle tells us this is an idyll, a time when we see life stretching out before us.

Expected concert duration including an interval: 120 minutes

  • 01.09.2018
    11:00 Uhr