5. Symphony Concert

Andrés Orozco-Estrada Conductor
Radu Lupu Piano

    Giacomo Puccini

    • »Preludio sinfonico« in A major

    Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    • Piano Concerto in C major, K. 467

    Hector Berlioz

    • »Symphonie fantastique«, Opus 14

    Pathways to fulfilment

    The pre-Socratic philosopher Heraclitus noted that: »The most beautiful harmony is created through the marriage of opposites«. When Mozart composed his C major Piano Concerto in 1785 he was at the peak of his powers. The melody of »Preludio sinfonico«, Puccini’s second orchestral work, was used ten years later by the composer to express »desperate passion« in his opera »Manon Lescaut«. And desperate passion is also the underlying »idée fixe« in Berlioz’s »Symphonie fantastique«.

    Expected running time incl. intermission: 120 min.

    • 07.02.2018
      20:00 Uhr
      Ticket price:
      36.00 – 67.00 €
    • 08.02.2018
      20:00 Uhr
      Ticket price:
      23.00 – 67.00 €

    Andrés Orozco-Estrada

    Andrés Orozco-Estrada was born in Medellín (Colombia) and trained in Vienna. In September 2014, he took up the positions of Music Director of the Houston Symphony and Chief Conductor of the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra. From the 2015/2016 season, he also became the Principal Guest Conductor of the London Philharmonic Orchestra. He previously served as Principal Conductor of the Tonkünstler Orchestra, with whom he developed a highly successful musical partnership from 2009 to 2015.

    Andrés Orozco-Estrada conducts many leading orchestras worldwide, including the Vienna Philharmonic, the Santa Cecilia Orchestra in Rome, the Orchestre National de France, the Dresden Staatskapelle, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, the Vienna Symphony and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, as well as the orchestras of Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Cleveland and Chicago. In the summer of 2014, he made his debut at Glyndebourne Festival Opera conducting »Don Giovanni«. Following a thrilling debut the previous year, summer 2016 marked his return to the Salzburg Festival with Nicolai's opera »Il Templario« and – in place of Nikolaus Harnoncourt – Beethoven's Ninth with the Concentus Musicus Wien.

    His engagements for the 2016/2017 season featured debuts with the San Francisco Symphony and the Berlin Philharmonic. He also accompanied Colombia's outstanding youth orchestra, the Filarmónica Joven de Colombia, on their first European tour, conducting eight concerts in Berlin and Stuttgart, at the Rheingau Music Festival, at the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festival and at the styriarte in Graz. 

    Andrés Orozco-Estrada began his musical studies on the violin before receiving his first conducting lessons at the age of 15. In 1997, he moved to Vienna where he joined the conducting class of Uroš Lajovic, pupil of the legendary Hans Swarowsky, at the renowned Vienna Music Academy. Orozco-Estrada currently lives in Vienna.

    Radu Lupu

    Radu Lupu, one of the greatest pianists of our time, is the Capell-Virtuos of the Staatskapelle Dresden for the 2013/2014 season. Born in Romania in 1945, this exceptional artist took his first piano lessons at age six, later studying in Bucharest and at Moscow’s Tchaikovsky Conservatory, where one of his tutors was the legendary Heinrich Neuhaus. At only 12 years of age he gave his first public concert featuring a programme of his own compositions. Radu Lupu took first prize at three of the world’s most prestigious piano competitions: the Van Cliburn in 1966, the George Enescu in 1967 and the Leeds Competition in 1969. Subsequently he has regularly played with such top international orchestras as the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, all of London’s great orchestras as well as the Vienna Philharmonic. At his Salzburg Festival debut in 1978 he performed with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra under Herbert von Karajan. 

    Radu Lupu has also been in great demand as a soloist in the USA since his first concerts there with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra under Carlo Maria Giulini and with the Cleveland Orchestra under Daniel Barenboim in 1972. Throughout a glittering career he has been showered with accolades, including the Premio Internazionale Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli in 2006 as well as the Abbiati Prize of the Italian Association of Music Critics, awarded in 1989 and 2006. During the 2013/2014 season Radu Lupu was Artist-in-residence of the Staatskapelle Dresden.