Symphony Concert N° 1

Alan Gilbert Conductor
Lisa Batiashvili Violin

Sergei Prokofiev

  • Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Opus 63

Gustav Mahler

  • Symphony No. 1 in D major »Titan«

Sounds of nature

Prokofiev’s Second Violin Concerto has long entered the standard repertoire of great soloists and orchestras. The work’s unusual emotional range places it close to the ballet »Romeo and Juliet«, written at the same time and shortly before Prokofiev’s final return to the Soviet Union. Mahler’s First Symphony is also a work of genius. Woven out of the sounds of the countryside and romantic folk lyricism, Mahler creates a world that is a stepping-stone on his way to becoming one of the most important symphonists. 


  • 29.08.2018
    20:00 Uhr
    Ticket price:
    36.00 – 82.00 €
  • 30.08.2018
    20:00 Uhr
    Ticket price:
    36.00 – 67.00 €

Alan Gilbert

New York Philharmonic Music Director Alan Gilbert began his tenure in September 2009. He simultaneously maintains a major international presence, making guest appearances with orchestras including the Berlin Philharmonic, Leipzig Gewandhaus, Royal Concertgebouw, London Symphony, Cleveland, Philadelphia, Boston Symphony, Munich Philharmonic, Staatskapelle Dresden, and Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France. Gilbert is Conductor Laureate of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic and former Principal Guest Conductor of the NDR Symphony Orchestra Hamburg. He has led productions for the Metropolitan Opera, Los Angeles Opera, Zurich Opera, Royal Swedish Opera, and Santa Fe Opera, where he served as the first appointed Music Director. 

In seven years at the New York Philharmonic, Gilbert has succeeded in transforming the 175-year-old institution into a leader on the cultural landscape. He has led staged productions of Ligeti's »Le Grand Macabre«, Janáček's »Cunning Little Vixen«, Stravinsky's »Petrushka«, and Honegger's »Joan of Arc at the Stake« to great acclaim, and encouraged the development of two series devoted to contemporary music: CONTACT!, introduced in 2009, and the NY PHIL BIENNIAL, an exploration of today's music by a wide range of contemporary and modern composers, which was inaugurated in 2014 and returned in 2016. 

Alan Gilbert is Director of Conducting and Orchestral Studies and holds the William Schuman Chair in Musical Studies at the Juilliard School. He made his Metropolitan Opera debut in 2008 conducting John Adams's Doctor Atomic, the DVD of which received a Grammy Award. He was elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences in 2014, honored with the Foreign Policy Association Medal and named an Officier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French government in 2015, and nominated for Emmy Awards for Outstanding Music Direction of two New York Philharmonic productions: Sweeney Todd and a 100th-birthday gala tribute to Frank Sinatra, broadcast on PBS's Live from Lincoln Center in 2015 and 2016, respectively.