Symphony Concert N° 11

Andrés Orozco-Estrada Conductor
Anna Vinnitskaya Klavier

Modest Mussorgsky

  • »Night on Bald Mountain« (Instrumentation by Nikolai Rimski-Korsakov)

Sergei Prokofiev

  • Klavierkonzert Nr. 2 g-Moll op. 16

Igor Strawinsky

  • »The Rite of spring«

Russian dance scenes

Andrés Orozco-Estrada returns to the podium of the Staatskapelle with a programme of Russian music. The concert is framed by two scintillating orchestral works whose plot revolves around a terrifying dance scene: Modest Mussorgsky’s »A Night on the Bald Mountain« is about a witch’s dance held on St. John’s Eve while Igor Stravinsky’s ballet music »Le sacre du printemps« culminates in a virgin’s sacrificial dance to the god of spring. Anna Vinnitskaya will perform Sergei Prokofiev’s Second Piano Concerto.


Expected concert duration including an interval: 105 minutes

A concert introduction is given 45 minutes before the start of the performance in the opera cellar.

  • 09.06.2019
    11:00 Uhr
  • 10.06.2019
    20:00 Uhr
  • 11.06.2019
    20:00 Uhr

Andrés Orozco-Estrada

Andrés Orozco-Estrada was born in Medellín (Colombia) and trained in Vienna. In September 2014, he took up the positions of Music Director of the Houston Symphony and Chief Conductor of the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra. From the 2015/2016 season, he also became the Principal Guest Conductor of the London Philharmonic Orchestra. He previously served as Principal Conductor of the Tonkünstler Orchestra, with whom he developed a highly successful musical partnership from 2009 to 2015.

Andrés Orozco-Estrada conducts many leading orchestras worldwide, including the Vienna Philharmonic, the Santa Cecilia Orchestra in Rome, the Orchestre National de France, the Dresden Staatskapelle, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, the Vienna Symphony and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, as well as the orchestras of Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Cleveland and Chicago. In the summer of 2014, he made his debut at Glyndebourne Festival Opera conducting »Don Giovanni«. Following a thrilling debut the previous year, summer 2016 marked his return to the Salzburg Festival with Nicolai's opera »Il Templario« and – in place of Nikolaus Harnoncourt – Beethoven's Ninth with the Concentus Musicus Wien.

His engagements for the 2016/2017 season featured debuts with the San Francisco Symphony and the Berlin Philharmonic. He also accompanied Colombia's outstanding youth orchestra, the Filarmónica Joven de Colombia, on their first European tour, conducting eight concerts in Berlin and Stuttgart, at the Rheingau Music Festival, at the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festival and at the styriarte in Graz. 

Andrés Orozco-Estrada began his musical studies on the violin before receiving his first conducting lessons at the age of 15. In 1997, he moved to Vienna where he joined the conducting class of Uroš Lajovic, pupil of the legendary Hans Swarowsky, at the renowned Vienna Music Academy. Orozco-Estrada currently lives in Vienna.

Anna Vinnitskaya

Anna Vinnitskaya’s recordings and performances have inspired numerous ornate and imaginative characterisations by music critics. Whoever witnesses her in concert is inevitably enthralled by the aura of this artist. Anna Vinnitskaya is a major pianist of our time who tells stories with notes, using her manifold range of expression.

Born in the Russian city of Novorossiysk, Vinnitskaya has called Hamburg her home since 2002. A former master student of Evgeni Koroliov at the Hamburg conservatoire, she now is a professor there herself – that is, when she’s not touring the stages of the wide musical world.

Vinnitskaya’s repertoire spans from Johann Sebastian Bach to Sofia Gubaidulina. Her particular emphasis lies on the great Russian piano composers such as Rachmaninov, Prokofiev or Shostakovich, as well as the colourful piano works of Ravel, Debussy and Chopin. In the past few years, her readings of Brahms and Bartók have caused a stir, a particular highlight being a performance of all three piano concertos of Bartók in one afternoon (with Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin under Marek Janowski).

Audiences and critics alike celebrate Vinnistskaya’s ability to paint grand canvases, aside from sparking spectacular fireworks. Her technical splendour is not a virtuosic

means in itself, but blends with a natural, always colourful sound. 

As soloist, Vinnitskaya has performed together with renowned orchestras from Berlin (Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester) to London (Royal Philharmonic Orchestra), from Munich (Münchner Philharmoniker) to Tokyo (NHK Orchestra), from Birmingham (City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra) to Tel Aviv (Israel Philharmonic). Vinnitskaya also makes regular appearances with the leading radio orchestras.

Among the conductors with whom she has collaborated are stars of the younger generation such as Andris Nelsons, Kirill Petrenko or Krzysztof Urbanski, as well as seasoned masters such as Charles Dutoit, Vladimir Fedoseyev and Marek Janowski. Anna Vinnitskaya’s recordings have been recognized with numerous awards, such as the Diapason d’Or, the Gramophone Editor’s Choice and the ECHO Klassik.

Vinnitskaya won her first international competition at the age of 12. Among her most prestigious prizes are an award at the Busoni competition in Bolzano in 2005, the first prize at the Concours Reine Elisabeth in Brussels in 2007, as well as the Leonard Bernstein Award of the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival in 2008.