Guest concert in Cologne

Myung-Whun Chung Conductor
Sir András Schiff Piano

Johannes Brahms

  • Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15

Antonín Dvořák

  • Symphony No. 7 in d minor, Opus 70

German-Slavic connections

Speaking of his protégé Dvořák, Brahms claimed: »This fellow has more ideas than all of us. Any other composer could cobble together some main motifs from his leftovers.« The elder German master conducted the Staatskapelle in 1886 and was an hon­orary member of the orchestra’s own Soci­ety of Musicians. Together with Principal Guest Conductor Myung-Whun Chung and Capell-Virtuos Sir András Schiff, the Staatskapelle will celebrate its 472nd anniversary with a programme of works by these two composers.

expected concert duration: 90 minutes

  • 23.09.2020
    21:00 Uhr
    Philharmonie Köln